What are the librarians reading?

Splendor: a Luxe Novel by Anna Godbersen. 391 pages. 2009.

This final installment of The Luxe ties a tidy bow around the series, fit for one of those dazzling dresses that adorn the covers. Godbersen takes us on a final wild ride with the characters we love, as well as those we love to hate.

Carolina Broad, who graces the cover in her lavender gown, has finally established herself among New York’s social elite; however, she still longs for the love of Leland Bouchard. When Carolina finds herself in Leland’s arms, she believes her wildest dreams have come true, but her lies and social blunders along the way to engagement may yet cost Carolina more than her newfound wealth can buy.

Penelope Hayes has been trapped in the Schoonmaker mansion under the pretense of miscarriage while her husband travels to Cuba with dashed hopes of serving his country. Bitter and alienated, Penelope crashes back into the social scene and discovers that she may yet assume a title grander than Mrs. Henry Schoonmaker. The Prince of Bavaria is even more scandalous and seductive than Penelope, and she agrees when he asserts that she would be happier if she were a princess. Poor Penelope has finally met her match!

Elizabeth’s belly continues to swell, and she feels utter gratitude for Mr. Cairns, who has not only married her despite her condition, but has also purchased a lovely house for her. While arranging her husband’s office, Elizabeth finds a document that links her name to Will Keller. When Elizabeth recognizes a man at the door, she realizes that Mr. Cairns may not be her savior after all. Only one person can save her from this new-found horror, but will he return from war in time?

Diana has traveled the world looking for Henry. She finally reunites with him in Cuba, but the pair’s blissful reunion ends when an officer discovers Diana in Henry’s bed. As soon as Diana returns to New York, she knows that she has outgrown the city and its stifling rules. An escape to Paris with Henry is all that Diana can hope for, but a shocking turn of events at the Schoonmaker mansion may prevent Henry from joining her.

If you're looking for a light, but well written book to get lost in for the weekend, give this on a try! Ultimately, the women emerge strong and independent. Godbersen leaves us with a satisfying conclusion to this wonderful series for readers who love historical fiction, romance, and intrigue.


Teen Volunteers Recommend

The Collector by John Fowles. Reviewed by Chloe.


A butterfly collector takes his interest in a girl named Miranda to a new level of obsession when the thought of kidnap crosses his mind.

How did you like it?

The Collector is a suspensful novel that will leave the reader wondering the outcome of Miranda and Frederick's circumstances until the end. The novel gives insight on a strange and disturbed man as well as a fascinating young woman with a will to survive. It's easy to read and is definitely fast paced. It is exciting and still thoughtful. Though I read it for school, I would have read this book for fun anyway.

Teen Volunteers Recommend

Teen volunteers earn credit and have a good time helping us out at the library. They spend their volunteer hours working on crafts for story time, shelving DVDs, cleaning up, and more, but what do they do in their spare time? Well, sometimes they read! To keep up with volunteer- recommended reads, keep coming back for Teen Volunteers Recommend. . .

Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier. Reviewed by Kayla.


A young middle-class woman begins the novel as an assistant to an older woman. When she meets Maxim de Winter, they become friends and soon marry. Upon moving into his home, she is haunted by Maxim's deceased wife, Rebecca. Her death by drowning is causing a mystery at the castle.

How did you like it?

Overall, this novel is entertaining. I read it for school, but it is something that I would read on my own. Maurier is a great descriptive writer, and the characters' emotions are realistic. This book does not try to idealize love or be a scary thriller. It is especially interesting that the author does not give the main character a name. Her writing evokes interest in the reader.


Get Published Here!

Are you an avid reader? Want to get involved in the library and get some practice writing? You've come to the right place! We are seeking teen book reviewers to help us promote all the awesome reads HDPL offers. Stop by Green Valley Library to pick up a review sheet, or send us an e mail at jdsullenberger@hdpl.org. We will try to get a submission form online soon!

Reviews should contain your first and last name, your grade, the book's title and author, a brief summary, and your critique! For some tips on how to write a great review, see the following websites:


We hope to read your thoughts soon!


Transitions and an Exciting Event!

First, an announcement! HDPL is now on MySpace, so check us out and add us if you like! With the addition of the MySpace blog, we are going to be changing the purpose of the Teen Spot Blog (the one you are reading now)! In the future, we will start posting book reviews here, and all of the library happenings will show up on our MySpace blog. We still want YOU to help us with these reviews, and we'd love to give you a voice here on our website. If you are interested in contributing, please e mail Jessica Sullenberger (that's me) at jdsullenberger@hdpl.org. Contributors must be between the ages of 12 and 17.

I do have one last announcement before we switch gears. Tomorrow at 3:00 p.m. at Green Valley Library, we are having a Fall Fashion Preview. A student from the International Academy of Design and Technology is going to talk to us about what's hot for the fall season. Even better, he's going to teach us how to forecast trends by keeping up with news, pop culture, politics, and more. I am very excited about this program, and I hope that some of you are, too! Please come to the library a few minutes before the program starts so we can begin on time! Light refreshments will be provided. If you have any questions, or if you want to sign up, give me a call at 207-4262. I hope to see you there!


Express Yourself at the library this summer!

If you're reading this blog, you probably enjoy reading in general. But even if you don't love reading, I know you love prizes! This summer, Henderson District Public Libraries offers you a Teen Summer Reading Program with the opportunity to win some very cool stuff, including gift cards to your favorite stores, food, and go-kart racing.

What do you have to do for a chance to win? It's simple. Register for the SRP online here or at your nearest library. Whenever you read throughout the summer, log your minutes online. Log five hours by midnight on Sunday each week, and you will be entered into weekly raffles. Here's the raffle schedule:

6/22 - Eight Bowling Passes (2 drawings)

6/29 - $25 Gift Card to Borders (2 drawings)

7/6 - $25 Gift Card to Regal Cinemas (2 drawings)

7/13 - 4 Pack of Passes for King Putt Mini Golf (2 drawings)
Pottery (session at All Fired Up) and a Pizza ($25 Gift Certificate to Pizza My Dear) (1 drawing)

7/20 - $50 Gift Card to Best Buy (2 drawings)

7/27 - $50 Gift Card to GameStop (2 drawings)

8/3 - $50 Gift Card to Galleria Mall (2 drawings)

8/10 - 2 Passes to Pole Position Raceways (including all gear needed for the go-karts) (5 drawings)

That's not all we have to offer, either. Check out the library events calendar here to find teen events at your favorite library. We'll be hosting creative, artistic programs and more all summer. Some highlights follow:

Gibson Library

Teen Tech Club (6 weeks)
Monday June 22, June 29, July 6, July 20, July 27, and August 3
2:00-3:30 p.m.

Teen Poetry Cafe
Thursday, July 9
7-8:30 p.m.

Henna for Teens
Wednesday, July 22
4:00-5:15 p.m.

Green Valley Library

Crafty Altered Book (2 weeks)
Thursday, July 2 and Thursday, July 9
3:00-4:15 p.m.

Catching Fire Survival Tips with Aaron from Red Rock Canyon Interpretive Association
Tuesday, July 7
3:00-4:15 p.m.

Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince Launch Party (with costume contest and prizes)
Tuesday, July 14 4:00-6:00 p.m.


Wii the Teens!
Tuesday, August 11
4:00-5:30 p.m.

Paseo Verde

Rock Band
Thursday, July 2
6:00-8:00 p.m.

Library Idol
Monday July 20
6:30-8:00 p.m.

Battle of the Bands
Friday, August 7
6:00 p.m.-9:00 p.m.


Fantasy Road Trip Contest

Win an 8 GB iPod Touch and a collection of signed audio books!

Fantasy Road Trip Contest
Fans of Libba Bray, Tamora Pierce, and Rick Riordan

What do you have to do?

Make a video between 30 seconds and five minutes long, which includes a reference to the state of Florida, a reference to audio books, and a clip of dialog from an audio book of your choice, written by the above mentioned authors. The video will tell the authors where you would go and what you would do if you could go on a road trip with one of your favorite characters.

Videos will be posted to YouTube, and the authors will select three winners!

Contest ends August 17, 2009

For full rules visit http://www.randomhouse.com/audio/features/listen-up-florida/contest/

If you are interested in participating, please see Teen Services Librarian, Jessica, at the Green Valley Library youth services desk. If we have enough interested teens, I will help you out, and we will show your video at the library!


Green Valley Library Teen Advisory Group

Green Valley Library is starting a new Teen Advisory Group, and I would love to see you all there.

Teen Advisory Group, or TAG, comprises teens from 12-18 who are interested in contributing to the library in a fun, meaningful way. What you do is up to you-- pitching in to plan and conduct teen events, performing community service projects, working with children, helping librarians select the best books to order, etc. If you have an idea that would improve the library experience for you or other teens, you are welcome to share.

Furthermore, we need a new name for the TAG! Please share ideas in the comments here OR at the meeting. Our second meeting will be held on Tuesday, June 9 at 4:30 p.m. in the program room. Snacks are provided, and it's a great chance to meet new people. You can register online here, or you can just drop in if you are a rebel who simply refuses to register!


Teen Spot is Back!

This blog has been very quiet for a long time, but we're hoping to turn things around with your help!

Henderson District Public Libraries is looking for teens ages 12-17 who are interested in promoting their favorite books or community events by writing short reviews or articles for publication in this very blog. If you have an interest in writing or editing entries, please contact Jessica Sullenberger, Teen Services Librarian at Green Valley Library by e mail: jdsullenberger@hdpl.org. Let's get the communication and creativity flowing, please!

Do you have suggestions about books or other materials you would like to see in your Henderson Library? Feel free to leave a comment. What about teen programs? Do you know how much we offer for teens year round? What are we missing? We would really love to hear your input. If you'd like to get involved beyond the blog, ask someone at your closest library about the Teen Advisory Groups at Paseo Verde and Green Valley, also known as the YAK (Young Adult Krew) at the Gibson Library.

To find teen programs (some upcoming events include anime club, altered books, a Harry Potter party, open craft time, nature survival skills, and candle making), visit our events calendar and set the age group to "teen" before you search.

And, of course, feel free to pay us a visit at the library.