Express Yourself at the library this summer!

If you're reading this blog, you probably enjoy reading in general. But even if you don't love reading, I know you love prizes! This summer, Henderson District Public Libraries offers you a Teen Summer Reading Program with the opportunity to win some very cool stuff, including gift cards to your favorite stores, food, and go-kart racing.

What do you have to do for a chance to win? It's simple. Register for the SRP online here or at your nearest library. Whenever you read throughout the summer, log your minutes online. Log five hours by midnight on Sunday each week, and you will be entered into weekly raffles. Here's the raffle schedule:

6/22 - Eight Bowling Passes (2 drawings)

6/29 - $25 Gift Card to Borders (2 drawings)

7/6 - $25 Gift Card to Regal Cinemas (2 drawings)

7/13 - 4 Pack of Passes for King Putt Mini Golf (2 drawings)
Pottery (session at All Fired Up) and a Pizza ($25 Gift Certificate to Pizza My Dear) (1 drawing)

7/20 - $50 Gift Card to Best Buy (2 drawings)

7/27 - $50 Gift Card to GameStop (2 drawings)

8/3 - $50 Gift Card to Galleria Mall (2 drawings)

8/10 - 2 Passes to Pole Position Raceways (including all gear needed for the go-karts) (5 drawings)

That's not all we have to offer, either. Check out the library events calendar here to find teen events at your favorite library. We'll be hosting creative, artistic programs and more all summer. Some highlights follow:

Gibson Library

Teen Tech Club (6 weeks)
Monday June 22, June 29, July 6, July 20, July 27, and August 3
2:00-3:30 p.m.

Teen Poetry Cafe
Thursday, July 9
7-8:30 p.m.

Henna for Teens
Wednesday, July 22
4:00-5:15 p.m.

Green Valley Library

Crafty Altered Book (2 weeks)
Thursday, July 2 and Thursday, July 9
3:00-4:15 p.m.

Catching Fire Survival Tips with Aaron from Red Rock Canyon Interpretive Association
Tuesday, July 7
3:00-4:15 p.m.

Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince Launch Party (with costume contest and prizes)
Tuesday, July 14 4:00-6:00 p.m.


Wii the Teens!
Tuesday, August 11
4:00-5:30 p.m.

Paseo Verde

Rock Band
Thursday, July 2
6:00-8:00 p.m.

Library Idol
Monday July 20
6:30-8:00 p.m.

Battle of the Bands
Friday, August 7
6:00 p.m.-9:00 p.m.


Fantasy Road Trip Contest

Win an 8 GB iPod Touch and a collection of signed audio books!

Fantasy Road Trip Contest
Fans of Libba Bray, Tamora Pierce, and Rick Riordan

What do you have to do?

Make a video between 30 seconds and five minutes long, which includes a reference to the state of Florida, a reference to audio books, and a clip of dialog from an audio book of your choice, written by the above mentioned authors. The video will tell the authors where you would go and what you would do if you could go on a road trip with one of your favorite characters.

Videos will be posted to YouTube, and the authors will select three winners!

Contest ends August 17, 2009

For full rules visit http://www.randomhouse.com/audio/features/listen-up-florida/contest/

If you are interested in participating, please see Teen Services Librarian, Jessica, at the Green Valley Library youth services desk. If we have enough interested teens, I will help you out, and we will show your video at the library!


Green Valley Library Teen Advisory Group

Green Valley Library is starting a new Teen Advisory Group, and I would love to see you all there.

Teen Advisory Group, or TAG, comprises teens from 12-18 who are interested in contributing to the library in a fun, meaningful way. What you do is up to you-- pitching in to plan and conduct teen events, performing community service projects, working with children, helping librarians select the best books to order, etc. If you have an idea that would improve the library experience for you or other teens, you are welcome to share.

Furthermore, we need a new name for the TAG! Please share ideas in the comments here OR at the meeting. Our second meeting will be held on Tuesday, June 9 at 4:30 p.m. in the program room. Snacks are provided, and it's a great chance to meet new people. You can register online here, or you can just drop in if you are a rebel who simply refuses to register!